Creating a user group


User groups are created from a new tab in the Users page, in this tab in addition to creating new groups all the user groups within the project can also be seen.

Here we see the User group tab in the Users page. 


To create a new User group:

  • Click “Create” in top left corner to enter the Create view
  • Give the User group a name
  • Select if the group should be a Project or a System level user group
  • Set access on the user group in the access rights panels. ( The functionality is identical to setting access for a regular user)
  • Assign users to the user group in the Users panel
  • Save



Here we see the panel for naming the user group and specifying the type. 


Note 1: Type cannot be edited afterwards so make sure the right type is selected from start, additionally as mentioned previously the system level user groups should only be used when the same set of users should have access to the same.


Added users to a user group will lose all existing access rights within the project, the access rights of the user group are always applied to the users in the user group.

Adding a user to a system level user group the user will be added to all the projects where the system level user group is present. An information message displays which projects the user will be added to.


Noticeable in the "Create/Add User Group" menu we can see setting access rights of the user group, has identical options as when setting access for a regular user. The access rights applied to the user group are always applied to all of the users in the group without exception.


It is important to note that the users already assigned to a user group cannot be added to another user group. The check boxes next to user's Username is disabled for all users that already belong to other user groups as shown in the last column. To change the user group of a user you first need to remove them from the current group (see how to edit a group) and then assign the user to a new group.







Import existing System level user group


System level user groups can be used in multiple projects. To add an existing system level user group including all it’s users, click the “Add existing level user groups” option from the “Create/Add User Group” view as shown below. In the appearing list you see all your system level user groups that can be added to your project.

Here we see how you can select which system level user group to be added to your project, all users in this group will have access to the project when the user group is added.




Editing a user group


To edit a user group (change the name, access rights or connected users) enter the edit mode from the user group list and the edit view will appear.




If a user is removed from a project level user group the user loses all the access rights within the project, however the user is still kept in the project.


Removing a user from a system level user group also removes the user from the user group in all the projects where this system level user group is present. An information message displays which projects the user group is present in.




Delete a user group


To delete a user group use the delete option in the user group list. 




When deleting a project level user group  choosing if the users in the group should stay is possible, however users that remain will lose all access by default, or they can be deleted.





When deleting a system level user group from a project the users in the group are also deleted to keep consistency between the users and the system level user group across all projects. 

From this view you can also delete the system level user group from multiple projects by using the “Delete system user group with users from multiple projects…” in the bottom of the message.