The Hierarchical filter structure is derived from the raw data. When a node needs to be “moved” to another “parent” node, this needs to be done by updating the raw data and then updating the Hierarchical tree structure. The raw data can either be updated using the Data recoding function or by manipulating the data outside Dapresy Pro.


The option to move the Hierarchical filter nodes allows you to keep all the Hierarchical filter related settings when a node is moved. This logic can be used when a “Complete update” is made in the Derive Hierarchical filter from data screen. When this operation is made, the system searches for nodes to be deleted and nodes to be added. If a node to be deleted has the same name as a node to be added, then the system will suggest that the change be treated as a “moved node” so all Hierarchical filter related settings are kept.


The Administrator can then decide if the change will be treated as a moved node or treated as a replacement for another, deleted node. The following Hierarchical filter related settings will be kept if an update is treated as a “moved node”:

  • Report user access rights to the moved Hierarchical filter node.
  • The document connection to the moved Hierarchical filter node in Document archive 2.0.
  • The images uploaded to the moved Hierarchical filter node in the Dynamic image module.
  • The report setting of the moved Hierarchical filter node which defines which Hierarchical filter node to be shown in the StoryTeller, Cross table tool 2.0 and Document archive 2.0 .
  • The Hierarchical filter node settings in the page Variable subsets Vs Hierarchical filters.


The move logic can be applied to an update in both the Derive Hierarchical filter from Data screen and in the Import scheduler screen. You have the ability to move a node once you select ”Complete update” from the Derive Hierarchical filter structure from data screen. As mentioned above, the process is based on matching names. The system will suggest to treat a change as a “move” if one of the nodes to be deleted has the same name as one of the nodes to be added. The image below shows the ‘Complete update’ button.


Step by step

  1. Access the Reporting objects / Hierarchical filter.
  2. Press Complete Update.
  3. In the new dialog menu tick the check box for the nodes to be moved if you want to keep the Hierarchical filter related settings.
  4. Untick the check box if the update will be treated as one node to be deleted and one to be added if you don’t want to keep the settings.


The following nodes are moved to a different path


When setting up an Import schedule, you can define whether any Hierarchical filter updates that are detected as “moved nodes” will be treated as a moved node or not. The option appears only in the interface if the “Complete update” option is activated. The image below shows the option in the Import scheduler page.